#### COUNCIL

## Minutes of the meeting held on 1 March 2018 at 7.00 pm in Council Chamber - Council Offices.

**Present:** Councillors Ashbee, Bambridge, Bayford, Braidwood, Brimm,

Buckley, Campbell, K Coleman-Cooke, Connor, Constantine, Dawson, Day, Dennis, Dexter, Edwards, Evans, Falcon, Fenner, Game, I Gregory, Grove, Hayton, Howes, Jaye-Jones, Johnston, Larkins, Martin, Matterface, Messenger, Parsons, L Piper, S Piper, L Potts, R Potts, Pugh, Rogers, Rusiecki, D Saunders, M Saunders,

Savage, Shonk, Stummer-Schmertzing, Taylor, Taylor-Smith,

Tomlinson and Venables

#### 1. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies were received from Councillors G. Coleman-Cooke, Crow-Brown, Curran, Dixson, J. Fairbrass, L. Fairbrass, Hillman, Townend and Wells.

#### 2. ANNOUNCEMENTS

There were no announcements.

### 3. <u>DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST</u>

There were no declarations of interest.

### 4. <u>ELECTION OF LEADER OF THE COUNCIL</u>

It was proposed by Councillor Savage and seconded by Councillor Taylor-Smith that Councillor Bayford be nominated Leader of the Council.

It was proposed by Councillor Campbell and seconded by Councillor Matterface that Councillor Constantine be nominated Leader of the Council.

Upon being put to the vote, Councillor Bayford was elected Leader of the Council until the Annual Meeting of Council in May 2019.

#### APPOINTMENT OF DEPUTY LEADER OF THE COUNCIL

Council noted that the Leader appointed Councillor Savage as Deputy Leader of the Council.

# CABINET PORTFOLIOS, OPERATIONAL ACCOUNTABILITIES AND EXECUTIVE DELEGATIONS

The Leader confirmed that:

- a. The current Cabinet Portfolios and operational accountabilities would remain in place until the Leader advised of any required changes.
- b. The existing scheme of executive delegations would remain in place until the Leader advised of any required changes.

Meeting concluded: 7.10 pm